The Student Room Group

Part time work as a student

I've been thinking of getting a part time job for some extra money, as I'm in my first year of university and am basically just living off my university savings (in no danger of running out anytime soon, but I could still do with the extra money).

There is an issue with holidays though. I'm at university for a few months, and the Christmas and Easter holidays are both about a month each. Summer holidays are longer. I could do with a job, but I'd want to still be able to go home during the holiday periods, which may not be possible if I were to get a job.

Is there any way around this? I know of one person who works at Tesco and he just gets assigned to a different store when he goes home, which would be ideal for me. But I'm not sure how common this arrangement is, and I can't find any information about it.
Hey RFowler,

We are looking for people to help us out. We have just launched a game app called 1pGigTickets where players WIN tickets to music gigs and festivals for just 1p. The game is FREE to download and play and you can WIN gig tickets by playing a game. It's a very easy sell to students. Check the game out on the App Store (search 1pgigtickets)

We are looking for people to join our 1pGigTickets Street Team to help promote to students at universities around the country. You set your own hours (you are effectively self employed) and the more you put in the more you get out of it. We do have limited places at each university so be quick to sign up. You get paid for every download and registration of the game that you get.

You need to be bubbly, outgoing and able to start a conversation with almost anybody. If you want a job that's not stacking shelves, telesales or working at McDonalds (I've done that) then join our new, exciting and fun team.

Send me a message if you fancy it and want to hear some more.

Neil