The Student Room Group

What do uni students do during the summer?

I was wondering what uni students do in the summer when they don't have uni. I'm an EU student and the government from my home country doesn't help fund rent in the summers, but that's not the biggest issue. What do uni students do in the summer? Work? Visit home?

I'm asking this because I don't really fancy the idea of moving back home during the summers (what was the point of even moving out in the first place if this is the case), but then do I always look for a summer job and find a temp place near where my family lives or simply stay in England?

I need some advice haha. This seems confusing.
I go back to my parents and work during all the holidays (Christmas, Easter and summer). My uni also gives us half terms which is helpful as I work through those too.

It is a little easier for me to do this as a uk student though, especially for half terms!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Even though I could easily go home by train (100 miles from my uni), I have chosen to stay over the summer since I can't imagine going back. I already have a job and now there is no uni until September I plan on picking up extra over time, if it wasn't for my job then I wouldn't be able to stay over summer

Posted from TSR Mobile
Most students get jobs or internships over the summer - you'll want the money to help you during term time, and internships ate valuable work experience which is vital for many careers.

Most universities will not give you accommodation for the summer, but if you live in private rented accommodation during the year you will probably have the option to keep it over the summer, if you want to stay in your uni town for a job, or alternatively its pretty easy to find short term lets
in other cities if you get a job/ internship there.