The Student Room Group

English Literature??

Hi there
I'm an international student currently in Colombo, Sri Lanka
I am doing my O Levels this year, and will have to choose my A Level subjects soon
I am interested in medicine, and am most likely to follow this career
I want to know whether it would be worthwhile taking English Literature as well as the four sciences (Maths, Bio, Chem, Phys)
Will it give one an advantage to have a strong arts subject as well as the sciences?
Also, will further maths help me?
Thanks in advance
I would rather have English literature with those subjects than further maths, for various reasons:
1) Shows variety etc
2) Not counted as a separate subject by lots of medical school
3) What I currently feel about Further Maths :p:
Reply 2
Thanks for the prompt reply =)
Do Oxbridge count it as a separate subject?
The one exception :wink:
Well done :smile:
Reply 4
Hehe yay =)
lol well i still dunno whether ill do further maths, seeing as its gonna be a heavy workload with bio,phys,chem,phys and lit
thats if i get an A for O level lit *-)
Reply 5
I do english lit! (and german as another arts subject) Do english lit if you're certain you can cope with the sophistication and volume of work - definately the biggest jump for me. It was dumb of me to carry it on, as I will probably get a B this year and could jepordse my chances of getting into med school. But it will definately look better than further maths if you're chosing between them.
Reply 6
If you're applying from overseas, then eng lit will help show that you're english is very good, which is obviously be something the med schools want to make sure about.

Plus, I think med schools do like applicants to show art/science variety in their a-levels especially as you're doing all science and maths anyway

Finally, O-levels are called GCSEs now:smile:
Reply 7
Hehe very nice of u to notice the GCE part =)
I'm actually doing GCE O level in all subjects apart from IT and german (GCSE there) =)