The Student Room Group
Waterfront bar, King's College
King's College London
London

What's it like studying Mathematics (BSc) at KCL?

I just want to know what the teaching and how much support is available to students. and give it a rating out of 10?
I completed a maths degree at KCL and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The teaching is really strong for your core modules and although your first year doesn't count for much, I would really look at ensuring that you do the best that you can :yep:

What are you looking forward to most regarding your degree?
Waterfront bar, King's College
King's College London
London
Original post by Slowbro93
I completed a maths degree at KCL and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The teaching is really strong for your core modules and although your first year doesn't count for much, I would really look at ensuring that you do the best that you can :yep:

What are you looking forward to most regarding your degree?

how does it actually work? like the credits and all, im starting in september I have no clue how the grading or anything works
Original post by NeedAnswersASAP
how does it actually work? like the credits and all, im starting in september I have no clue how the grading or anything works

In terms of modules?
In terms of modules?

Yes
Original post by NeedAnswersASAP
Yes

You do 4 modules in each semester worth 15 credits each. In terms of exams, they are either usually 2 or 3 hours and you do 1 in January (Calculus 1) and 7 in the summer. You have no optional modules in first year, but in second year, you get the choice of 2/3. In final year, you can pick all your modules provided that they don't clash
Reply 6