The Student Room Group

Science or Languages?

Hi guys, sorry if this is in the wrong forum, there are just so many to choose from haha!Pretty much, I'm facing a huge decision. I was choosing a Uni course, and it was a toss up between Chemistry or Languages (spot the odd one out lol). Doing German in school, and having a love for languages, makes me think that languages would be good for me. But the courses seem to be heavily essay-based, and I'm a science student at heart, and my mind works in patterns and figures, not sentences and prose.My chemistry teacher is strongly urging me to take chemistry, as she thinks I would make a fantastic lecturer/teacher, and that I have what it takes to do well.I find chemistry interesting, but it's the prospect of jobs after, I don't really want to work in a lab. But I want a degree that will be respected - and I've always said I wanted a PhD in something.So I feel conflicted - do I go for the languages, which I'm good at in the sense of grammar and vocab, but am not good in terms of essays. Although I feel like there are more prospects for this, job-wise (e.g. marketing, teaching, translating, government work).Or do I go for chemistry, which I am *good* at (said with a pinch of salt), and maybe take it up to a PhD (If I am lucky enough to be given the opportunity), although my only real job idea would be a lecturer or teacher?Thanks for reading :smile:
Reply 1
Do whichever you enjoy more. Both have the similar prospect levels really.

Posted from TSR Mobile
If you're a science student at heart, then I'm sure you'll know what course to choose.
You could always study both! I'm at Glasgow and one of my flatmates is studying Biology, Chemistry and German. I assume that the other ancient Scottish universities (St.Andies, Ed, Aber) all have the same sort of format.
Reply 4
Science if you want a job
Reply 5
Original post by ubisoft
Science if you want a job