The Student Room Group

My parents make a fuss everytime I ask to borrow money

I am a student in my first year. I do live on £400 a month which is £100 a week but I use alot of this money for travelling home and back.

Anyway, I have a surplus of money left over this month which I am going to use for shopping so I don't have to pay for it when I am paid this month. However, that means then that i'm going to have £0 in my bank account.

I'm travelling back to England late next week, technically I don't need money for anything as i've booked it all. However, I don't want to go back there and have no money in my bank account incase something happens e.g. cancelled train (this has happened before).

I do get paid a few days after I arrive so i'm not worried about having no money for a few days. The problem is the possibility of being left stranded at a train station with nobody to go to - literally.

My parents will not give me £30 to put in my bank just to cover that. I wasn't intending to spend it, just keep it there and then give it back to them as soon as I get back to my appartment. I don't see why my parents make a fuss everytime I barrow money as I ALWAYS give it back immediately when I get paid? My father always makes me feel extremely guilty, like i'm asking him to give his life for me. I don't understand it personally, it's not like £30 is going to have a massive dent in their bank account.

Anyway, I made it quite clear to them that I was not going to use this money but they still insisted that I didn't get it. I don't know what to do, i'm probably going to have to cancel my shopping.

I'm very worried about going back to England with no money.
(edited 8 years ago)
The very obvious answer is don't go shopping until you get paid, or at least don't spend all of your money.

They're probably making a fuss because having to borrow money all the time off your parents shows you're not very good at budgeting properly which is a concern.
Original post by Frostyjoe