The Student Room Group

Revision!!!

I've been determined to get the A grades that I deserve this summer, i'm studying at AS level at the moment and I've been doing constant revision on average around 6 hours a day. I'm intensely studying law and sociology, however some of the stuff doesn't seem to be consolidating in my brain! I've adjusted my revision technique as such and it doesn't seem to be working. HELP ME !!! my main priority is law and in particular unit one seems to be going in one ear and out the other or I merely forget it days after revising it. ANY TIPS, MOTIVATION OR ADVICE?
Reply 1
Original post by AlderKate
I've been determined to get the A grades that I deserve this summer, i'm studying at AS level at the moment and I've been doing constant revision on average around 6 hours a day. I'm intensely studying law and sociology, however some of the stuff doesn't seem to be consolidating in my brain! I've adjusted my revision technique as such and it doesn't seem to be working. HELP ME !!! my main priority is law and in particular unit one seems to be going in one ear and out the other or I merely forget it days after revising it. ANY TIPS, MOTIVATION OR ADVICE?

Firstly, calm down.
I'm serious, obey me.

If you stress, you're going to start to envision crazy things, you're going to be more pessimistic, and that's gonna make you stress even more and distract you from revision. It's a vicious circle.
Once you relax, you can then realise where things are going wrong without suddenly panicking like crazy.

Secondly, it seems that it's a case of revision technique than a case of motivation.
How exactly are you revising?

Are you doing any of these methods:

--> Reading through the textbook