The Student Room Group

LLB or GDL which one is more respected?

Hello everybody, so I am currently a year 13 student and have gained a firm offer to study law at the University of Leeds (top 20 uni). But through looking at the modules, I have found some topics which sound so boring and which I would not need to know to become a criminal lawyer.

So I should I do a degree in English literature instead (one of my passions) and then do the GDL?

The only problem is, that if I decide to do the GDL I would get my English lit degree from a 'bad uni' such as Leeds Beckett or Manchester Met as I would have to enter clearing. So would it be worth gaining a 2:1 in English from a 'bad uni' and then still being a strong candidate with a good GDL?

Please ask any questions if confused, I do not use this site often and am still learning how to!

Thanks
If it was just a case of GDL v LLB, then my focus would be on whether I could finance the GDL (£20k) and LPC.
If it was Leeds Uni v MMU, then I would pick Leeds Uni.
Reply 2
Original post by 999tigger
If it was just a case of GDL v LLB, then my focus would be on whether I could finance the GDL (£20k) and LPC.
If it was Leeds Uni v MMU, then I would pick Leeds Uni.

In terms of funding, I know that the government loans out the tuition for the first degree, but in terms of the GDL are there existing loans for that?
Sorry I forgot you are 6th form. You will need to find funding for both the GDL and LPC
One way is to try and get a TC with a law firm and get them to pay for you. tends to only be richer commercial firms.
Another way might be to take out one of the new PGL as some courses count the GDL as an LLM so it can qualify, there are also a few 4 year LLB's which you would get funding for.
Finally you might have to take out a professional studies loan and pay for it yourself on far less favourable terms than the slc.
Oh I missed out saving up the cash or working and paying for it.