The Student Room Group

Failed my 1st test today, one silly mistake!

Gutted I failed my first test today, on one silly mistake- I was at a set of lights went to go didn’t realise I put it in to 3rd rather than 1st (which I’ve never done before) so I had no idea what was wrong with the car until I stalled twice then realised. One point I thought there was something wrong with the car. Other than that I done perfectly so she said it was a shame, only 3 minors otherwise. Just need to remember next time if that ever happens check my gear first!
Original post by Zoefj30
Gutted I failed my first test today, on one silly mistake- I was at a set of lights went to go didn’t realise I put it in to 3rd rather than 1st (which I’ve never done before) so I had no idea what was wrong with the car until I stalled twice then realised. One point I thought there was something wrong with the car. Other than that I done perfectly so she said it was a shame, only 3 minors otherwise. Just need to remember next time if that ever happens check my gear first!

Similar situation here, took my first test about 2 weeks ago and failed, stopped on a hill at red lights as you're supposed to do and put handbrake on and car in neutral but as soon as I had done that, lights turned green so I rushed to find the biting point and stalled, big mistake rushing it. Then literally a few second later some guy ran out in front of me, although it wasn't really my fault, I should've been prepared to stop in case someone did run out behind a car etc. They were my two majors, apart from that got like 5 minors, examiner was a really nice person and I even heard him say to my instructor after "He's a cracking lad, good driver too, just a shame he stalled at those lights."