The Student Room Group

Too young to do a PGCE (secondary)?

Hi, I'm currently in my second year of a Biology degree and know I eventually want to be a secondary school Biology teacher. I was originally going to apply for a PGCE straight after 3rd year, but this would mean I would be just 21, teaching up to 18 year olds? I also look really young, and fear that I wouldn't be taken seriously. My other option is to take a year out, I've read a lot of people have been an unqualified teaching assistant for a year or two before applying for the PGCE, which is something I'm interested in but cannot find any information on at all. Any advice? How young is too young, and how would I go about getting a job as a TA?
Original post by Lbennett73
Hi, I'm currently in my second year of a Biology degree and know I eventually want to be a secondary school Biology teacher. I was originally going to apply for a PGCE straight after 3rd year, but this would mean I would be just 21, teaching up to 18 year olds? I also look really young, and fear that I wouldn't be taken seriously. My other option is to take a year out, I've read a lot of people have been an unqualified teaching assistant for a year or two before applying for the PGCE, which is something I'm interested in but cannot find any information on at all. Any advice? How young is too young, and how would I go about getting a job as a TA?

I wouldn't let your age stop you from applying to do a PGCE after your undergraduate degree if that is what you want to do. You mention that you look young and feel you might not be taken seriously. However, if you work hard and learn the skills to be a good teacher, you will be judged on your merits rather than your looks. Taking a year or two won't change the way you look.