The Student Room Group

Wilcox test HELP!!!

okay so I am doing psychology and I have been doing the stroop experiment, you know say words in different colors and see how long it take anyway I am now going to calculate the results and I am suppose to do it with the wilcox test but I can't figure it out so

if I have for ex
1st times 2nd times difference Rank
14,583 26,803 12,22 1
11,296 24,305 13,009 2
13,413 27,26 13,857 3
and so on

I will calculate raking later so I just filled in random nr, so next step calculate T is what gets me
T= the sum of the ranks of the less frequent sign :confused:
which I guess is + or - but all my differences are plus, the participants were always slower on the second timed test so how am I suppose to add the nr up :confused: Please help anyway you can I am terrible at these things, maths:s-smilie: . So before you tell me to, I don't have a teacher to ask or anyone else. I am studying by myself.
I am not quite sure I understand you.

You should have two sets of data from a repeated measures design experiment ( ie one group of participants and they did two tasks?) Just checking.

So, list the scores for each condition.

Calculate the difference between each pair of scores.

Rank the differences from smallest to largest ignoring the +/- signs.

Then add together all the ranks given a +.

then add together all the ranks given a minus.

you will then have a total of minus ranks ( ones with minus signs ) and a total for plus ranks. ( ones with plus signs)

Take the smaller of the two totals. Count the number of pairs ( not counting ties ( that is any where both conditions got the same scores)

Find a table book of critical values for the wilcoxon - compare your smallest number to that given in critical values at whatever significance level you are setting ( p : =/+ 0.05 usually)
Reply 2
wellpastmybedtime