The Student Room Group

dropping out of uni and doing a degree apprenticeship instead

Hello, I am a first-year student at university who is currently doing a computer science degree. I decided that I wanted to do uni because of all the hype that was going on around it, how without a degree you can't get a decent job and how uni will literally set your life in terms of a decent paying job, and also in my family uni is very encouraged since everyone in my family went to uni.

As soon as I attended the first month of uni I quickly realised that uni is not what i expected. All uni is, is self-study. They ask you to do your own learning and the lectures themselves only explains the exercise that you had to do. I've done BTEC before going to uni, and everything was more practical. And i didn't like the idea of not applying my knowledge to a real life scenario and practising what I've learnt in a "workplace" environment. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and decided to keep going until the first term at least and see if it gets any better. But It didn't, and i cant imagine doing a whole 3 years of this. Now it just feels like the whole uni experience, (especially when covid is happening) is a massive scam! I'm paying 9k a year just to do a bit of self-study and later forgetting everything that I've learned because this isn't being applied into a workplace (I'm not really a book person when it comes to learning. I learn quicker when I'm actively using the knowledge).