The Student Room Group

Charity Shop Volunteering

Hey guys, I'm a 3rd-year undergrad student about to graduate this summer. At the moment, I have no work experience at all to put on my CV hence I am planning to volunteer at various charity shops in my local area.

My questions are:
1. Can I pick which days I will be available? I will simultaneously be working at multiple charity shops every week hence I don't want to have any clashes in my schedule.

2. How does a volunteer leave the job? Let's say after a month, I want to stop volunteering at that charity shop, do I just tell the manager and walk off?

3. I am planning to make my first job as a customer assistant at a local supermarket (Tescos, Sainsbury's, ASDA etc.). Will they consider this volunteer work somewhat valuable? Especially when I don't have any paid work experience on my CV.

4. Lastly, will the interviewer/employer ask why I volunteered to multiple charity shops i.e. Why do I keep switching companies (Oxfam, local hospice, cancer research etc.)? Is it bad?

Thanks in advance, I'm trying to gather as many skills possible to help me progress in my adulthood lol
Hello, volunteering is a great, selfless thing to do :smile:
1. That will be up to the charity you are volunteering for, so its best to talk to them as some will be pretty flexible, and some may only need people for certain times or certain days
2. Im not sure about 2 as ive never volunteered myself, so hopefully someone else can answer for me
3. Yes, this will be valuable on your CV for customer assistant positions! It shows you have excellent communication and people skills, and shows you are capable of handling several responsibilities
4. As long as you can justify it, im sure it wont really matter, i dont think it would be deemed ‘bad’ by any means
Reply 2