The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

Durham English Exchange

I'm an overseas exchange student coming to Durham in September for course in English Literature. I'd like to know if there is anyone doing English there and do you buy the books that you're going to read in classes? When will you know the reading list and how much time do you have to get the copies of the reading?

Besides, can you recommend some ways to buy cheaper/second-hand books?

Scroll to see replies

Original post by lltina
I'm an overseas exchange student coming to Durham in September for course in English Literature. I'd like to know if there is anyone doing English there and do you buy the books that you're going to read in classes? When will you know the reading list and how much time do you have to get the copies of the reading?

Besides, can you recommend some ways to buy cheaper/second-hand books?

Hi there

You can talk to a current English Lit student on UniBuddy and find out the exact details from them. More generally though, I did buy second-hand books from a second-year law student but ended up not really using them because they have copies available in the library plus online versions as well. As for the reading list, we had an induction day just before lectures began where each professor told us about the main books they recommend. You also get a login id (four letters, 2 numbers. eg: abcd12) for Blackboard which is where all the course content is hosted including lecture handouts, lecture recordings and any other course announcements. That page also contains a reading list for all modules with links to any available online/offline versions.