The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

UCL Engineering and Architectural Design MEng portfolio and other requirements

Hi, I’m a year 12 international student who takes the IB diploma. I want to study architecture but I have realised too late that I need a portfolio to apply. Which means that I have never taken art in igcse or in IB. I’m at a place where I don’t have enough time to both do well in my studies and alongside that, prepare a portfolio. I was about to give up and go into design engineering instead (cuz I take maths AA HL, Physics HL and DT HL) but I saw on UCL’s website that the Engineering & Architectural design page didn’t say that a portfolio was required. Is this actually true? Or am I missing something? I’m having doubts because I saw on a forum here that someone sent in a portfolio for this course whilst applying. But unlike the Architecture course, this course didn’t specify anything about a portfolio on their website.
(edited 1 year ago)
Original post by Chloe.26
Hi, I’m a year 12 international student who takes the IB diploma. I want to study architecture but I have realised too late that I need a portfolio to apply. Which means that I have never taken art in igcse or in IB. I’m at a place where I don’t have enough time to both do well in my studies and alongside that, prepare a portfolio. I was about to give up and go into design engineering instead (cuz I take maths AA HL, Physics HL and DT HL) but I saw on UCL’s website that the Engineering & Architectural design page didn’t say that a portfolio was required. Is this actually true? Or am I missing something? I’m having doubts because I saw on a forum here that someone sent in a portfolio for this course whilst applying. But unlike the Architecture course, this course didn’t specify anything about a portfolio on their website.