The Student Room Group

career paths

hello, i am a first year law student and just had a few questions about becoming a solicitor or barrister.

solicitor -
i know that you have your law degree, then the sqe and qualifying work experience, but there’s also a training contract. i was wondering when you would apply for one, like how early.

also like for being a barrister, you need to be a member of an inn - is there anything here which needs you to be part of a firm. going back to barristers, for them you need to be good as advocacy, mooting and such, what would the equivalent be for a solicitor?

barrister -
you’ve got the law degree and then the bar course and then a pupilage. at some point in between you need to apply for a pupilage and become a member of an inn. how early do you do this? also there’s scholarships available, how early would i apply to them?

both -
also when you apply for undergrad uni, it’s through ucas and that. is it the same for the bar course and sqe, but there’s entrance exams? i guess my questions is, is it through ucas or is there another way we’re meant to apply?

i would really appreciate any help. if there’s other importance stuff i should know or it would be good of me to do/read/research, please let me know! x

thank you :smile:
(edited 1 year ago)
Reply 1
Original post by spacingoutagainx
hello, i am a first year law student and just had a few questions about becoming a solicitor or barrister.

solicitor -
i know that you have your law degree, then the sqe and qualifying work experience, but there’s also a training contract. i was wondering when you would apply for one, like how early.

also like for being a barrister, you need to be a member of an inn - is there anything here which needs you to be part of a firm. going back to barristers, for them you need to be good as advocacy, mooting and such, what would the equivalent be for a solicitor?

barrister -