The Student Room Group

Biology or Physics for A-level?

Hi. I am a Year 11 student choosing A-level, and I'm hesitating between Physics and Biology. My other choices are pretty much set, which are Chemistry, Math and Further Math.

If choosing physics, I would probably aim to do an engineering degree in uni, potentially going into developing products. The reason behind this is because I enjoy creating things and the satisfaction. However, I don't particularly feel a large passion for physics itself. I am also worried that A-level physics may be very hard, from information that I have heard.

Whereas for Biology, I really enjoy the genetic and evolution topics, but not much for the rest. If taking biology, my current thoughts are doing research in the future, as I have no interest in clinical medicine. My concerns are: this route will be difficult and long, as you'll need a higher degree, and I'm worried that my interest is not enough to support me through that.

Right now I'm leaning towards physics, as it opens up more degree options. You may enter some biology-related degree with physics and chemistry, but not physics degrees with biology.

My grades for the two subjects are quite similar, making it harder to decide. In the mock we just had, I got 9 for both of them (with the exact same scores actually).

Thank you so much for reading this, any advice would be much appreciated!
Biology and chemistry have a lot of overlap :smile: I was also worried about taking a-level biology because i hated the ecological side to things but it goes by fast and there's not much more to it than GCSE in that topic so i think you would be fine

If you're not passionate then I wouldn't choose the to study a subject at A-Level