The Student Room Group

Changing courses

Hello everyone!!!

I'm a first-year student studying Fashion Buying and Brand Management but the thing is that I don't really enjoy the course much. Since I was able to speak I've always said I wanted to be a teacher. This dream carried all the way through primary school and some of secondary. But secondary school has a funny way of making things seem very scary. My school was a hand-full and it really put me off, especially because I had a hard time with my friendship group too.
But whenever I came up with a new dream-job, I've always fallen back to teaching and the idea of being a teacher. I really want to give back to schools and give the kids the fun and adventurous education I had in primary and to look out for the children and make it a second home.

I'm slightly worried/confused about my situation. I'm not going to continue my course at my university, and I was wondering if I could (through clearing) apply to a teaching course. Or the other thing I was wondering was because I've done a year at university will I be able to contact a university and could they out me through to the second year?
I'm really not sure how it all works. If anyone has advice or knows what I can do I would love to know and hear back!!!

Thank you so much, I hope you all have a lovely day :smile:
Hi,

I'm really sorry that you are not enjoying your course! If you think the course you’re studying isn’t quite right for you, it is possible to transfer onto a different course either at the same university, or to a course at a different university. The process of transferring varies by different institutions. If your current university offers a teaching course, I'd recommend speaking to your faculty/department office as they should be able to advise on the protocol of transferring courses or withdrawing.