The Student Room Group

What Computer Science course in DMU is like

Hey everyone!

Every year thousands of students are applying for Computer Science courses to different universities all around the UK. I have decided to try to help potential students to get understanding what Computer Science course is like, and hopefully it may help them to make a decision.

As a DMU student, I am obviously discussing my experience from De Montfort University:colondollar:, but I do encourage everyone to leave their stories and experiences under. Let’s create a thread that may be super useful for potential Computer Science students :smile:

As a Cyber Security student at De Montfort University, I've heard from my friends that studying Computer Science at DMU is a great way to learn about modern computing technologies and prepare for a career in the field. From what I've heard, the course focuses on modern approaches to software development, covering everything from programming language concepts to computer networks and web security.

One of the things that makes DMU's Computer Science course unique is its diverse curriculum. Students get both theoretical and practical experience, and the course covers important professional issues like computer ethics and law. It also offers optional third-year modules, so students can tailor their learning to their individual interests and career goals.

We all have access to computer workstations and computing laboratories with PCs running Windows/Linux. The Kimberlin Library on campus is a great place to study, with computer stations, laptops, and a huge variety of print materials available. The library staff are always willing to help students with research, writing, and reference management.