The Student Room Group
De Montfort University
De Montfort University
Leicester
Visit website

Block Teaching at De Montfort University

Hey everyone,:smile:

I'm a second-year Cyber Security student here at DMU and I've been studying under the block teaching format, also known as Education 2030. You might have heard of it - it's a new course structure which focuses on teaching one subject at a time. This approach has offered me a unique learning experience and I've found it beneficial in numerous ways, which I'll elaborate on in this post.

Universities across the globe use different teaching modes, each with its own set of advantages. Some of you might be familiar with the traditional teaching structure where multiple subjects are taught concurrently throughout the semester. While this method has its merits, it can sometimes be overwhelming to juggle multiple subjects and assessments at once. That's why we at DMU have started to implement block teaching.:cool::cool::cool:

In the block teaching format, we study one subject intensively for a block of several weeks, complete the assessment for that subject, and then move on to the next one. One of the main benefits I've experienced is the ability to focus on one subject at a time. This has not only improved my understanding of each topic but also reduced the stress of handling multiple subjects simultaneously.:h:

Moreover, block teaching has fostered a sense of community within our cohort. Since we're studying the same subject together for a block of weeks, we've been able to build stronger connections with each other and with our professors.

I wanted to open up a discussion on this topic to hear about your experiences and thoughts. Whether you're a fellow block teaching student or studying under a different format, your views are valuable. What do you think about block teaching? Do you find it more effective compared to the traditional teaching structure? Have you faced any challenges?:confused: