The Student Room Group

Graduated with a First - but poor GCSE's. Can I get into Oxbridge?

So I graduated with a First Class in Sociology (MSc) from Kingston University.

I want to continue studying Sociology at Masters level.

But my A levels were 4 C's and 6 C's at GCSE level.

However, in my last year at uni I was diagnosed with Dyspraxia and I think I have ADHD too. I'm getting a ADHD test soon and expect that I'll be prescribed Ritalin which will only help.

In my Dyspraxia assessment the woman said that I likely underachieved at GCSE's and A-levels by being placed on Foundation papers because of my undiagnosed dyspraxia and only doing exams.

Would I have any chance of getting into Cambridge or Oxford? It asks for a 2:1 and I have a First but I don't want to waste my time or anyone else's if they're just gonna toss out my application?
Original post by Craig_93
So I graduated with a First Class in Sociology (MSc) from Kingston University.

I want to continue studying Sociology at Masters level.

But my A levels were 4 C's and 6 C's at GCSE level.

However, in my last year at uni I was diagnosed with Dyspraxia and I think I have ADHD too. I'm getting a ADHD test soon and expect that I'll be prescribed Ritalin which will only help.

In my Dyspraxia assessment the woman said that I likely underachieved at GCSE's and A-levels by being placed on Foundation papers because of my undiagnosed dyspraxia and only doing exams.

Would I have any chance of getting into Cambridge or Oxford? It asks for a 2:1 and I have a First but I don't want to waste my time or anyone else's if they're just gonna toss out my application?

I’ve herd Oxford are pretty harsh on GCSE for undergraduates but Cambridge will look more at recent qualifications so you might have a better chance there.