The Student Room Group

Veterinary medicine

Hello! I need some advice in terms of my career as I’m not sure what to do.

I’m currently studying biomedical sciences however having gone through the first year of the course I don’t really feel as though I want to follow through with going down that career path.

The topic was mostly a second choice for uni/ my career as during covid I unfortunately wasn’t given the grades at GCSE chemistry to take it on at A level (I got a B however an A is required to study it at A level).

I’m really considering dropping out of uni to do fast track chemistry at a local college/ tech, however, I’m afraid of risking dropping out of uni to do the fast track chemistry to then not get accepted if I apply for vet med, it’s also another year of my life gone too (I’m 19). I’m also not sure if I would be able to apply for next year if I do fast track as I wouldn’t get my results until the end of August next year etc.

Does anyone have any opinions on what I should do, or is there possibly anyone who studies vet met who could give some advice? Thank you!! :smile:
So firstly your age concerns, you are only 19. It’s too drilled into us we must go to uni at 18 and if you consider the life expectancy is around 80+ that’s not even 25% of your life. I am 20 and (hopefully) will be going to vet school in September. I originally applied at 18 and didn’t get the grades but honestly looking back I’m a very different person and it’s heavily benefitted me.
Secondly, academically very rigorous courses like vet med tend to have more ‘mature’ students just due to the nature of the difficulty of the course and how most don’t get in first time. I know when I start in September there’s lots of people in late twenties and even thirties who are just starting the course and completing changing their careers.