The Student Room Group

Applying to Uni with no maths GCSE?

I've always struggled with maths and have sat my maths GCSEs so many times I have lost count. It has been at least four failed attempts throughout my academic journey, and honestly after I left sixth form (without any A levels, which is a different story altogether), I thought I'd never really have need for a maths GCSE.

That was until last year when I decided that I do actually want to go to university. I want it more than I've wanted anything in a really long time and was a goal I'd long given up on achieving because I just didn't think I was smart enough.

I'm 24 for the record, and have only just figured out what I want to do with my life.

I am studying Animal Management at college and I want to study Zoology at uni (Bangor specifically) but I'm not confident I'll even have a chance since I suck so badly at maths. I am on track to achieve distinctions in my course, so I'm not a bad student as a rule...

Maths has just never been something I could wrap my head around. I resit my maths exams recently and although I believe I've done better than I have in past attempts when I was a teenager, I still don't think I've achieved the passing grade that I need.

Is there any hope of going to uni without a maths gcse? My teachers seem to think that there is, but my friends who have been to uni are saying there's pretty much no hope if I fail these exams.
is there a foundation course ? surely maths is a requirement to get into zoology??
Original post by Highflyers
I've always struggled with maths and have sat my maths GCSEs so many times I have lost count. It has been at least four failed attempts throughout my academic journey, and honestly after I left sixth form (without any A levels, which is a different story altogether), I thought I'd never really have need for a maths GCSE.