The Student Room Group

Can I enter uni without GCSE but with a foundation year

Hi guys, so... it's kind of a complicated story but when I was in year 10 I studied in a British school and in year 11 I moved to Portugal. So this year I moved to England and I was planning on doing my GCSE exams maths and English in November, but I ended up entering a foundation year in art and design ( with no A levels or BTEC), so I will be having my IELTS exams in December and will be applying for uni in Jan. Now... do u think that I really have to write my GCSE exams to enter uni or I will only need my foundation year grades
I would contact the uni to see if you can use your foundation year instead of your gcse but I don’t think you can unless it’s a similar course at the same university. I suggest doing your gcse English and maths tho because most things require these two.
Reply 2
Original post by PetitePanda
I would contact the uni to see if you can use your foundation year instead of your gcse but I don’t think you can unless it’s a similar course at the same university. I suggest doing your gcse English and maths tho because most things require these two.

well it wouldn't be in the same uni but I am doing a foundation year in art and design and I would be applying for a BA undergraduate illustration course. I checked the unis website and it says that the entry requirements include GCSE maths and English or foundation year art and design but I am so scared of getting there and hear them say that I need GCSES
Original post by lonbueno
well it wouldn't be in the same uni but I am doing a foundation year in art and design and I would be applying for a BA undergraduate illustration course. I checked the unis website and it says that the entry requirements include GCSE maths and English or foundation year art and design but I am so scared of getting there and hear them say that I need GCSES