The Student Room Group

if I withdraw my application in ucas ,can I enter the Clearing process?

Hello, everyone.
I'm not a native English speaker, so the grammar may be wrong:frown:

I'm a non-EU international student and I got a conditional offer from UCL this year.

Unfortunately my final IB exam results didn't meet UCL's condition. Currently I want to attend Edinburgh University so I have to enter the clearing process.(My insurance offer is kcl) If I withdraw the application of UCL, can I enter UCAS clearing?
Original post by Stella727
Hello, everyone.

I'm a non-EU international student and I got a conditional offer from UCL this year.

Unfortunately my final IB exam results didn't meet UCL's condition. Currently I want to attend Edinburgh University so I have to enter the clearing process.(My insurance offer is kcl) If I withdraw the application of UCL, can I enter UCAS clearing?

Yes assuming Edinburgh will have the course in clearing. However be careful as most years Edinburgh only have a few courses in clearing. You would need to withdraw your insurance before you can use clearing.
Hello, everyone.

You can’t withdraw your application at this stage in the cycle. If you do it will completely withdraw you from ucas - including clearing.

Have you asked UCL when they will make a decision?
you need your firm/insurance universities to make a decision on your application before you can use clearing.
Reply 3
Original post by PQ
You can’t withdraw your application at this stage in the cycle. If you do it will completely withdraw you from ucas - including clearing.

Have you asked UCL when they will make a decision?
you need your firm/insurance universities to make a decision on your application before you can use clearing.

They said to wait for alevel to come out with scores, but then there will be more people competing with me. Should I currently ask with them to DECLINE me, right?