The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

Is UCL full of rich kids?

I am debating whether I should study at UCL or University of Bristol. I have already accepted my unconditional offer to UCL but I might just re-apply next year and hopefully get in Bristol again. I am just worried because I feel like I won’t fit in London university that much - I am scared it will be full of rich kids and I come from a low income family so that is another negative that London is so expensive. I just feel like I would fit into Bristol university more with the people and it will also be cheaper and closer to home. I have already taken a gap year though - I am 19. So that means if I take another gap year I will be 20. I am unsure what to do.
London is definitely expensive, that can't be denied. But I did my degree and PhD at UCL and I can't say there was any sense of most people being rich kids at all, that's a more a stereotype associated with places like Oxbridge and Durham.
University College London, University of London
University College London
London
Original post by Anonymous
I am debating whether I should study at UCL or University of Bristol. I have already accepted my unconditional offer to UCL but I might just re-apply next year and hopefully get in Bristol again. I am just worried because I feel like I won’t fit in London university that much - I am scared it will be full of rich kids and I come from a low income family so that is another negative that London is so expensive. I just feel like I would fit into Bristol university more with the people and it will also be cheaper and closer to home. I have already taken a gap year though - I am 19. So that means if I take another gap year I will be 20. I am unsure what to do.

I thought that Bristol had a greater reputation for having lots of "rich kids"?
(edited 8 months ago)

Please go to UCL. It is a large uni and you will likely find your own crowd. Good luck