The Student Room Group
Studying in halls, University of Cambridge
University of Cambridge
Cambridge

Living outside of Cambridge as a PhD student

I’m thinking of applying to reside outside of the uni’s precincts, but I intend to commute mon-fri. I live in north east London with my partner and driving to Cambridge takes ~1 hour. If I use the trumpington park and ride service it would take approximately 1 hour 15 min from my doorstep to the department. I think this is very doable, as that’s how long I’d have to commute for a job anyway

I am a new student, so I don’t have CamSIS set up yet. I’m just slightly concerned because I would have to apply for both permission to live away and permission to bring my car into Cambridge. I’m worried about either of them being rejected

Anyone have any advice/experience in doing this?
I know everyone talks about how commuting ruins the “Cambridge experience” but if I’m in every day I don’t think it will have a huge effect.
Reply 1
Original post by hazoolcat
I’m thinking of applying to reside outside of the uni’s precincts, but I intend to commute mon-fri. I live in north east London with my partner and driving to Cambridge takes ~1 hour. If I use the trumpington park and ride service it would take approximately 1 hour 15 min from my doorstep to the department. I think this is very doable, as that’s how long I’d have to commute for a job anyway

I am a new student, so I don’t have CamSIS set up yet. I’m just slightly concerned because I would have to apply for both permission to live away and permission to bring my car into Cambridge. I’m worried about either of them being rejected

I know everyone talks about how commuting ruins the “Cambridge experience” but if I’m in every day I don’t think it will have a huge effect.