The Student Room Group

Advice for someone that wasted their uni years

I'm in my final year of my biology degree, I had constantly been doing the bare minimum and so I have 0 other experiences or qualifications or anything someone might have done and achieved during their university lifetime. I've had a change in perspective and ambitions and I was wondering what I could do and where I could begin in making up for my missing achievements. Any sources of information such as websites or books or even events to look into that could help me catch up.
Reply 1
Get a job.
Volunteer.
Learn a new skill.
Join a club.
Engage in life generally really.

The other thing you could consider is to ham up what little experiences you have gained through minimal effort in the hope you get an interview for something half decent and then bluster your way through the interview. It certainly worked for those in senior positions in our government.
Original post by Anonymous
I'm in my final year of my biology degree, I had constantly been doing the bare minimum and so I have 0 other experiences or qualifications or anything someone might have done and achieved during their university lifetime. I've had a change in perspective and ambitions and I was wondering what I could do and where I could begin in making up for my missing achievements. Any sources of information such as websites or books or even events to look into that could help me catch up.

Hi,
Gaining other skills and experiences out with your studies definitely sets you well for the future and for job applications. One thing to consider is the time you have available because usually final years of study can be quite intense.
Sometimes your course lecturers can be a good starting place to ask if they know of any work placements available to get some hands on/ observation experience.