The Student Room Group

Help me choose my universities!

I applied for:
- University of Glasgow
- University of Sheffield
- University of Southampton
- Newcastle University
- Heriot-Watt University

I am an international student, best to say that I love city feeling over rural areas (I changed Sheffield with Lancaster for this) and perhaps cost of living plays a big part too? I don't really care about nightlife though. I applied to computer science/SE programmes there. What are your insights? What about employability for international students doing part-time jobs?
Reply 1
If you're looking for a city feel then it's Sheffield over Lancaster not the other way round. Cost of living in Sheffield is also one of the best.
Reply 2
Original post by Makro
If you're looking for a city feel then it's Sheffield over Lancaster not the other way round. Cost of living in Sheffield is also one of the best.

Thanks a lot. I am currently considering both Glasgow and Sheffield as both provides the city feeling, for now I'll keep your suggestion in mind.
Hiya!
Even though Lancaster definitely isn’t a big city it’s pretty close to Manchester so you can visit for weekends if you wanted big city vibes. We also have a large international community at the university. Plus it’s super close to the lakes and well connected to Glasgow, Liverpool, Manchester, Edinburgh by public transport. Campus is pretty and peaceful.
(I know you haven’t applied to the uni but just in case)
Ella 😁 (MSci grad)
Reply 4
Original post by Lancaster Student Ambassador
Hiya!
Even though Lancaster definitely isn’t a big city it’s pretty close to Manchester so you can visit for weekends if you wanted big city vibes. We also have a large international community at the university. Plus it’s super close to the lakes and well connected to Glasgow, Liverpool, Manchester, Edinburgh by public transport. Campus is pretty and peaceful.
(I know you haven’t applied to the uni but just in case)
Ella 😁 (MSci grad)