The Student Room Group

Universities for mechatronics or robotics

Hi!
I'm a year 13 student on the verge of making university choices on my UCAS application. I'm interested in studying mechatronics or robotics engineering and am applying to Oxford for their engineering degree.
However, I'm debating on the other choices. I was considering UCL, Cardiff and Manchester, but would like to look at other options.
What university would you recommend for a mechatronics or robotics degree?
Reply 1
Do not consider Cardiff (far from industry, not that great uni) and Sheffield might be a good option just saying they have a good reputation for mechatronics.

Also, you must consider Loughborough and Southampton, as they have one of the best mechatronics/mechanical departments in UK.

I do not know your predicted grades, so I cant comment more. But here are some suggestions
Original post by Ndaima
Do not consider Cardiff (far from industry, not that great uni) and Sheffield might be a good option just saying they have a good reputation for mechatronics.

Also, you must consider Loughborough and Southampton, as they have one of the best mechatronics/mechanical departments in UK.

I do not know your predicted grades, so I cant comment more. But here are some suggestions

Thanks a lot, I've looked at more Unis now and am considering Southampton and will do for Loughborough as well!
My predicted grades are most likely gonna be the following if it helps
Maths - A*
Chemistry - A*/A
Physics - A*/A
Further Maths - A
Reply 3
Awesome, you will have 4 A-levels along with Further Maths and that A and A*s in them, with a good personal statement no university would dare to reject you.

I just wanted to give you a suggestion from experience and peer friends, why don't you opt for mechanical engineering/automotive/aerospace.