The Student Room Group

Dropping out of University in Third Year

I previously attended a uni for 2 years then transferred to my now uni. I'm currently in third year of a four-year course. I am autistic and have previously had contact with disability services. I just feel really unwelcome in my course since I started last year. Another girl on my course transferred this year because she was feeling the same way. It doesn't help that most people on my course are 30+ and I don't have anything in common with them. I didn't attend any classes last term but still passed my assessments with pretty good marks. I've been going to classes for last few weeks but it has been really difficult for me and I ended up spending most of the day last week crying because of it.
Not to be mean but a lot of people on my course aren't very bright. A girl in my class was telling her group that they were going to do a presentation on ableism despite being neurotypical. She said that's he didn't understand why autistic people were in mainstream classes in school and that instead they should be in basic maths, English and cooking classes instead so they can get something out of life. Maybe it's cause I'm autistic but it just really rubbed me the wrong way and especially the fact that no one was disagreeing with her or saying anything against her. We have to do group work assignments for 2 classes and I don't have a group. We were told to find our own groups but everyone already seems to be in them and one of the lecturers said we can't work alone like I usually would. I find the academic work easy but the social side really difficult.
I don't think it helps that I don't get any support despite having had a disability needs assessment from the university. I'm just so sick and tired of feeling drained and constantly left out in class. I'm thinking of dropping out as I don't know how much more of it I can take.