The Student Room Group

Merit in Oxford MSc Politics Research

Hey folks, I'm wondering what my odds are for apply back to Oxbridge to do a DPhil in the social sciences. I did an MSc in Politics Research during the first full academic year of the pandemic (2020/2021). I applied two months before the pandemic was a thing and got accepted. I tried to defer my offer but that got rejected so I ended up coming during the pandemic.

I ended up with a merit in my masters at Oxford. I got a 68 in my graduate course work and a 65 on my dissertation. I'm not sure what grade I would end up with. Would it be a 66.5 or rounded up to a 67? Anyway, considering the circumstances, I feel like I still did fairly well. But, had it not been the height of the pandemic, I'm sure I could have done better (distinction).

I'm wondering what you all think my prospects are for reapplying and getting accepted into a DPhil program. I'd definitely have to also secure some funding to make a 3-4 year degree in the UK viable. Other background information. I'm from Canada and did my undergraduate in Canada, with a final average equivalent to a first-class undergraduate degree with honours in the UK.

Anyway, any insights would be much appreciated. Thanks folks!
Reply 1
I posted this in the middle of the night, that's why it may not have been noticed. Any thoughts would be much appreciated folks! Thanks in advance.
Reply 2
Original post by jacob88
Hey folks, I'm wondering what my odds are for apply back to Oxbridge to do a DPhil in the social sciences. I did an MSc in Politics Research during the first full academic year of the pandemic (2020/2021). I applied two months before the pandemic was a thing and got accepted. I tried to defer my offer but that got rejected so I ended up coming during the pandemic.