The Student Room Group

nursing to medicine? HELP!

I’m a first year nursing student, and am currently worrying that I may be more interested in becoming a doctor in the long run, however (before people comment ‘JUST SWAP!!’) I didn’t complete any of the normal A-level entry requirements e.g chemistry/biology/maths/physics which is why i ended up going into nursing instead of medicine.

I know there are graduate entry medicine courses, and that the government may be introducing medical apprenticeships - but i’m worried that the competition for these will be too high for me, especially as most university’s don’t accept nursing degrees????? (still baffled by this - can study geography but not nursing and get into GEM).

I’m just worried that i won’t be able to achieve the high level (2:1 or first) in nursing when i know right at the beginning my heart isn’t in it long term.

Please leave any advice or frankly any comments was just wondering if there’s any avenues people know about that i haven’t explored yet.
(edited 5 months ago)
Original post by elizalee
I’m a first year nursing student, and am currently worrying that I may be more interested in becoming a doctor in the long wrong, however (before people comment ‘JUST SWAP!!’) I didn’t complete any of the normal A-level entry requirements e.g chemistry/biology/maths/physics which is why i ended up going into nursing instead of medicine.

I know there are graduate entry medicine courses, and that the government may be introducing medical apprenticeships - but i’m worried that the competition for these will be too high for me, especially as most university’s don’t accept nursing degrees????? (still baffled by this - can study geography but not nursing and get into GEM).

I’m just worried that i won’t be able to achieve the high level (2:1 or first) in nursing when i know right at the beginning my heart isn’t in it long term.