The Student Room Group

Medicine timeline yr12

Hiya! I’m a year 12 student who wants to pursue medicine . I take bio (ocr),chem(aqa) and maths (edexcel) and I’m considering taking an EPQ. I don’t have much guidance on what I should do during these two years to prepare for my medical application and when I should start/finish certain things. My GCSE results sort of acted as a wake up call as I got mid results:
2 (9s =higher A*)
2 (8s=A*)
2 (7s=A)
2 (6s=higher B)
1 (3=D-fail)
I was hoping if anyone could explain to me the key details and events I have to prepare for during yr12 and yr13 and how I can improve my application.
Original post by thedyslexickid
Hiya! I’m a year 12 student who wants to pursue medicine . I take bio (ocr),chem(aqa) and maths (edexcel) and I’m considering taking an EPQ. I don’t have much guidance on what I should do during these two years to prepare for my medical application and when I should start/finish certain things. My GCSE results sort of acted as a wake up call as I got mid results:
2 (9s =higher A*)
2 (8s=A*)
2 (7s=A)
2 (6s=higher B)
1 (3=D-fail)
I was hoping if anyone could explain to me the key details and events I have to prepare for during yr12 and yr13 and how I can improve my application.

The key thing to do would certainly be to get some work experience and volunteering of some sort during year 12. It is key to note though that your reflections from these experiences are the most important thing.
Original post by HastyJaguar
The key thing to do would certainly be to get some work experience and volunteering of some sort during year 12. It is key to note though that your reflections from these experiences are the most important thing.

Thanks for replying :smile: What types of volunteering and where can I find opportunities? I was considering applying for St John’s Ambulance , do you think thats a good idea?
Original post by thedyslexickid