The Student Room Group

Does anyone want to be friends at university?

I am a residential student at University of Chester but have struggled to get to know anyone due to living in a studio room and arriving later. I was wondering if there is anyone out there who wants to become friends so we can go into the city on coffee dates, shopping trips/window shopping, vising the museums and going to the River Dee?
Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear that you’re struggling to meet new people. We understand that arriving a bit later can be a daunting experience, but there are lots of things you can get involved with here at UoC.

Do you know about the the FREE Umii app? The app makes it easy to find new friends who are studying a similar course or have similar interests. It sends you up to three possible friend matches a day - and then it's up to you to say hello!**
App Store*
Play Store*

We also have lots of sports - https://www1.chester.ac.uk/sport-and-active-lifestyle/athletics%E2%80%99-union/athletics-union-sports-clubs and societies - https://www.chestersu.com/societies. Joining these can be a great way to meet new people, even if you just attend a taster session!

Our student volunteering opportunities are a great way to meet people too - https://www1.chester.ac.uk/careers-and-employability/students/volunteering

The Chester Student ShoutOut channels are a good way to keep up to date with events that are going on and around campus for current students - https://www.instagram.com/uocshoutout/

If you feel you need to chat with anyone from the University please take a look at our Student Support Services - https://www1.chester.ac.uk/student-support. These services are here to help you whenever you need them and can help you make the most of your university experience.

We hope this info helps but don’t hesitate to get in touch if you need anything!

Best wishes,
Becky
Original post by Anonymous #1