The Student Room Group

no motivation at uni

I am a first year law student and find myself having no motivation. I have multiple assignments coming up and loads of readings to catch up on. In the past I have managed to pull myself together but am struggling and just have no drive. advice ?
Reply 1
Oh you poor soul - this is where reality bites. No matter how much you love or hate the subject it just sits there waving at you and it won't write itself (no I'm not even going to suggest anything else)

Do you really love law? If you are having major doubts do something quickly and talk to your tutors or course admin for options as to what else you can do.

So for your assignments - Take a deep breath, lay it all out. Shut yourself off and make a start. Tell yourself you are not doing everything, just a little bit. Get a scaffold for each assignment so you have a plan or what it needs, and what research each section needs. Now take a break. Get the 'stickies' ready for any note worthy paragraphs and sources of inspiration. See how others are making headway, and talk to 2nd years to see how they survived the first term (or the first year) - Cast out for a life line (does it get better in year 2, year 3?)

Then at the next instalment, do part 1 of the first stage of whichever assignment scaffold bit takes your interest. If it doesn't toss a coin or write the name of each assignment on a piece of paper. Draw it out of a hat, a bowl, from the table. Do something imaginative to make things more exciting than they really are. Bookmark your pages then treat yourself to another lottery dip - expresso coffee, a bowl of sweets, running up and down the stairs, a walk outside etc etc. You create your own fun for a pretty wooden subject.

Convince yourself you are having the time of your life. Then if you say it enough times to yourself - you eventually believe it!