The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

dropping out of open university?

Hi

I'm currently studying at the open university (1st year) and I don't think I can continue doing this much longer. I was pressured into it by my parents cause they were desperate for me to do some kind of course. I thought it was gonna be harder than the stuff I did at school but so far it's all stuff I've already done and it feels like a total waste of time. I don't see the point in redoing stuff I already passed at school. I've also been having problems with my mental health for the last 9 months so sitting on my own for ages isn't great.

How easy is it to quit and should I try to finish anyway? I'm scottish so the SAAS is covering the loan for the first year. If I manage to quit is that money down the drain? I really don't want to waste it. Please help
Reply 1
I am not at Uni yet myself, but my last year of A-Levels. However I stopped going to public school to go to online school and I'll you that is a bad decision. I don't have a social life, I don't go out much. You should think to yourself what would you actually do if you dropped out, would you just laze around for the year doing nothing or do you actually have any plans. If you have plans fair enough, but if you don't you may as well stick it out.
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
Original post by imbadatnames
Hi

I'm currently studying at the open university (1st year) and I don't think I can continue doing this much longer. I was pressured into it by my parents cause they were desperate for me to do some kind of course. I thought it was gonna be harder than the stuff I did at school but so far it's all stuff I've already done and it feels like a total waste of time. I don't see the point in redoing stuff I already passed at school. I've also been having problems with my mental health for the last 9 months so sitting on my own for ages isn't great.