The Student Room Group

Paramedic science undergraduate degree questions...

Currently, I work as a Healthcare Assistant at my local NHS Trust in T&O and there are no apprenticeships on offer that I can apply for, which is unfortunate but they are working on this. I have been in Healthcare for 3.5 years with some gaps due to having children.

I understand I need a CAT 1 and undergo a physical assessment. However, I am unsure whether my qualification will be enough? My highest degree is PGCE in Post Compulsory Education and Training, followed by a BA (HONS) in Textile Design. Prior to this I did BTECs in arty stuff and achieved enough GCSE's A*-C (old system) including triple science, english and achieved adult numeracy level 1 and 2 whilst studying my PGCE.

Would this be okay? I know each university is different and I would need to work round my children, but my other concern is placements? Do they organise this with local hospitals and Trusts? I know the hours of travel can go up to 1.5 but is that from your residency or the campus?

Depending if I meet the requirements, whether commuting is best or moving closer to University. I have a while to plan and sort myself out and go to open days etc...
Original post by Kbowdy
Currently, I work as a Healthcare Assistant at my local NHS Trust in T&O and there are no apprenticeships on offer that I can apply for, which is unfortunate but they are working on this. I have been in Healthcare for 3.5 years with some gaps due to having children.

I understand I need a CAT 1 and undergo a physical assessment. However, I am unsure whether my qualification will be enough? My highest degree is PGCE in Post Compulsory Education and Training, followed by a BA (HONS) in Textile Design. Prior to this I did BTECs in arty stuff and achieved enough GCSE's A*-C (old system) including triple science, english and achieved adult numeracy level 1 and 2 whilst studying my PGCE.