The Student Room Group

Getting GBC and BPS Accreditation with international degree

Hello , I am currently finishing my masters in clinical psychology from a recognised University in India. I previously have completed my bachelors in psychology , my total cgpa was 6.9 . I am in my 3rd semester now and my 2nd semester sgpa was 8.38. I plan to pursue the rest of my career in clinical psychology from UK but I directly want to go for a phd or psyd without going for a double masters. I am aware that international degrees are also at times accredited by BPS. Before applying for GBC membership, I just want to get some clarity on what chances I have interms of getting accepted and placed in NHS as a trainee with my Indian degree. Both of my degrees cover necessary components along with project work ,internships and dissertation. I also plan to get an year of work experience before joining. Would really like some feedback and advice regarding this . Thankyou in advance.
(edited 1 month ago)
Reply 1
My question is if I do a conversion masters degree in uk for the sake of accredition and then can i start working or get as a trainee psychologist under NHS and then proceed for a doctorate in clinical and or educational psychology. Another question, if I do not do a non accredited masters ( preferably in child psychology) will I be able to work as a child psychologist in UK ? It's important for me to know there will be job opportunities cause I would need it to pay off my humongous studen loans.
I would contact the BPS for clarification on whether your bachelors degree is accredited, though I would imagine it's most likely not if acquired from outside of the UK.

In answer to your second question, yes, it is possible to start a doctorate after completing a conversion course but I would really stress the importance of experience as you won't get a place on the doctorate without a good few years of relevant experience.