The Student Room Group

Becoming in a pilot without being in the air cadets

Hey,
I'm thinking of applying for the sixth form scholarship offered by the RAF. I'm currently doing my AS levels and am predicted straight A's (Bio,Chem,Maths & PE), also do lots of extra-curricular sports. However I have no experience or showed any initiative to join the ATC. Obviously this isn't an ideal situation, but I'm just wondering how much importance do the RAF put on being involved in the air cadets? And does anyone know of anyone who's been selected that have had no experience with the ATC/flying?
Thanks

Scroll to see replies

Being in the ATC isn't a dead set requirement, they certainly won't reject you just because you aren't a member.

I have known people who have got sixth form scholarships and weren't in air cadets before, but they were strongly advised to.

I would say they do put an emphasis on it, and it does help your application, but it's just one of those things. There'll be people in the ATC who will be applying for a scholarship but not do anything outside of cadets.

Basically, don't worry about it :wink: If it does affect your application, it will only do slightly.

EDIT: If you provide a valid reason why you aren't in the ATC, e.g "I was too far from the nearest squadron", then they'll definitely accept that as a valid reason why.
To become a pilot, it's not necessary to have been in the ATC and it won't reeeeeally hold you back, after all they are desperate for recruits! You may have to answer questions as to why you didn't join the ATC in your interview(s), but it shouldn't hold you back.

The scholarship, however, is a very limited thing and unless there's very few people applying when you apply I doubt you'd get it without being in the ATC beforehand. Not saying you won't, by all means apply, but your chances will be greatly restricted as you need to demonstrate commitment to the cause.