The Student Room Group

Change of address

A quick question: do you (international or UK students) change your address when moving to Cambridge? :confused: In many ways, I think it would be easier to have my permanent address in Denmark. Most importantly, I wouldn't have to pay taxes in England or change my address every time I moved to a new room at Churchill College... Besides, my college wouldn't have to send my post back to Denmark during holidays. So, I’d really like to keep my address here :biggrin: but I’m not really sure whether the University and college expect me to have my official address in Cambridge? I hope you can help. :smile:
Reply 1
As an international student, I don't actually have a "permanent address" but instead have two addresses that I use at the same time - my home address (in Singapore) and my college address (in Cambridge).

My home address is used for anything to do with Singapore and as a back-up address for my UK bank and also for my college/etc to send me things over the holidays. My college address is used for anything UK based (and is the normal address I use with my UK bank) and also for getting stuff at during term-time.

The really nice thing about addresses in Cambridge colleges is that they don't change between years even when you move to a new room - it's almost always along the lines of ____, ____ College, Cambridge CB____. So this is incredibly convenient for most things, except when your college thinks you've graduated and aren't coming back (which has happened twice to me so far, though once was because of a mix up with someone who graduated who had the same initials and surname!)

I don't actually really see why you would need to have an official/permanent address in Cambridge...?
Reply 2
All right, so I don't have to contact the Danish government - I simply use another temporary address when I'm in England? I guess you don't pay any taxes in England?
Reply 3