The Student Room Group
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website

Downgrade to York?

Hey guys,

I'm currently studying 'education studies - history' at Durham, I haven't really clicked with the course or many of the people. Ultimately I want to study history of art and history and I've applied for York and got a place on their course. The thing is, is it worth sacrificing the status Durham has for history (bare in mind I'm not studying full history, I got rejected and had to settle for 50%) to do a course I know I'll enjoy more? At the end of the day I'm here to move forward so job prospects are key. I'm completely torn, I imagine if I leave I'll regret it forever. Thanks.
Reply 1
If you think you'll be happier and the financial implication of starting again is something you can take the burdon of, then I don't think you should let the issue of reputation put you off. I reckon most people would rank Durham and York quite similarly...I don't think there is a huge gap between the two and York is a great place. Definitely 'cooler' than Durham.
Chemistry Research, Durham University
Durham University
Durham
Visit website
Reply 2
If you don't mind me asking, what didn't you like about Durham?
Reply 3
I don't think York is much of a 'downgrade' from Durham...
Reply 4
Well, York is a damn good uni, so I'd argue that looking at it as a 'downgrade' is entirely the wrong way to approach this. And I'm not sure what you want to go on to do, career-wise, but I cannot believe that having studied at York will place you at a serious disadvantage to anyone from Durham. :smile: Spending three years being miserable, however, may well.