The Student Room Group

Returning to education after dropping out and a long hiatus

Don't really know if this is where this thread belongs :s

Hi, new member here looking for some advice. Wondering if anybody would share their experiences of looking for higher education courses after having dropped out; how easy it was to find another course, how you went about setting up finances again etc. Been out of the loop for two years now and I'm ready to get back to education after dropping out the first time, but it's still intimidating the second time round, even more so than the first in fact. Any help would be appreciated from those that have been through this thing again!

I suppose a little context to my situation wouldn't hurt either. I was a Scottish student studying at Napier in 2007, and I was enrolled while my mother was fighting cancer. Unfortunately she passed away during the early days of my first semester, and well, I'm sure you can guess how it went from there. I dropped out because my head was a mess basically, and I felt unless I could perform to the best of my ability (which there was really no chance of) then I had no real reason to be there. Finally, three years on I feel like I'm ready to get back to it and away from the relative drudgery of working life into something that's going to be rewarding for me. As I said before, any help on the matter would be greatly appreciated, especially considering the financial situation. Even if I could glean one anecdote from somebody concerning their experiences it would be more than a help. Thanks people~
(edited 13 years ago)
Reply 1
You MUST come back. I think, your mother would be proud, if you would achieve something special and important in your life. Don't stop and go forward. Best wishes!!!
Reply 2
Thanks for the kind words.