The Student Room Group

Tranferring university for 2nd year - is it too late now?

Hey,

I'm in first year at university, and I've never felt completely happy at my university. The university I'm attending at the moment was my insurance choice, and my A-Level grades were slightly compromised by some awful family issues I've had to go through, so I didn't get into my firm; somewhere I had my heart completely set on. I've made the effort and tried to make myself happy by being proactive - e.g moving accommodation, joining societies etc. and to some extent it has helped.

However, it's got to a point where I have so many niggles about my student life, the place where I am and the course that I'm on that I'm wondering if it's worth taking my chances somewhere else for year 2 - maybe even see if the university I firmed last year would give me a second chance.

Where I am at the moment, I always feel like the "back up friend" and that noone would really mind if I just upped and left; even after all the effort I have made to put myself out there and be friendly. The place where I am has never been what I expected either, and last but not least the course (even though I love the subejct) is boring, the department is the most unorganised and they really don't seem to care about the student's needs, which through everything I've been through, I've found them unsympathetic in most cases.

But there obviously obstacles in the way:

1. Is it too late to move into second year? The last thing I want to do is take a gap year, I do love studying and I consider myself able and bright enough to carry on.

2. I've already signed a contract for a house in the place where I am already. I feel it'd be a lot of hassle to sort that out and I'd feel slightly bad about leaving them (although if I'm really unhappy, I guess I'd have to be slightly selfish)

3. Will the "grass be greener on the other side"? (Obviously no one can answer that).