The Student Room Group

Looking into MSC Public Policy & Admin at LSE

Hi all

I am looking into applying for LSE's Msc in Public Policy and Administration for entry next year (2012/2013). I'm an American student at George Washington University, obviously not a top top school but a notable institution especially in the politics/policy field. Currently I have a 3.51 gpa, just slightly above the LSE's minimum for postgrads.

Judging by the intake of applicants (28/253) it looks as though the program may require a slightly higher gpa to be competitive?

Is there anyone out their who knows a little bit more about the degree and its quality?

Thanks for your help
(edited 12 years ago)
Reply 1
Anyone out there :tongue:
Reply 2
Hello!

I'm also an American and I am just about to complete this program (I'm wrapping up my dissertation this week!)

One reason you may not be finding out a lot of information regarding this specific M.Sc. is because it's a relatively new program; it replaced a similar one just a few years ago, and it now allows you to pick various "streams," or concentrations.

I would definitely recommend this program. I really enjoyed my professors, and it's amazing to be reading the most highly-regarded contemporary peer-reviewed works in your field, and know that they come from the people who are teaching you several times a week, whom you will get to know well (and love!).

As for grades. . . I did go to undergrad in the UK as well and got a "first," but the uni was also accredited by an American organization, which means that I had a GPA. It was 3.6 in general, and 3.75 in my major (history). I was in the Honors program the entire way through.

I got rejected from Social Policy, which required a "first," which I had, but then was accepted to the PPA program. I'm so glad it turned out that way, because you have a lot more flexibility with the latter.

So in total, here are my stats, and you can compare them against yours:
- "First" degree (Honors)