The Student Room Group

Choosing universities for entrance

Hi everyone,

I'm seriously stuck with what universities I want to apply to, just before I did my GCSE's my headmaster spoke to me one on one telling me he thinks I'm capable of Oxbridge and I should seriously be thinking of applying there, I then got my grades with 6 A's and 4 B's - admittedly I didn't revise really for them as I got a bit complacent - same with my AS.
I've just got my AS results - BCCC - which I am really disappointed with and I will be doing retakes this year and aiming to get A/B's.
The course I am wanting to do is either Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies or Arabic and Islamic studies.
What university would you guys recommend, and is Oxbridge out the question completely - just cause I've heard Cambridge interview like 80/90% of their applicants? I'm just really irritated with how complacent I've been over the past 2 years and I'm really going to turn my work ethic around for this year and get some work experience such as a Kibbutz in Israel done etc.

Help would be much appreciated - and be honest!

Thanks (-:
Reply 1
No chance with Oxbridge, i'm afraid. Cambridge do interview a high percentage of candidates but they look heavily at the AS grades and yours would definitely fall below a cut-off.

I first picked out universities in cities/areas I wanted to go to, and see if they offer my course. My course is Chemistry so I generally had few problems with that but yours probably isn't offered quite as widely. I then checked the entry requirements.