The Student Room Group

Finished 2 years of university and want to drop out.

I have finished 2 years of university out of 3 years and I am currently taking a break between 2nd and 3rd year before I go back in September (I am not studying). I am weighing up my options and trying to decide whether to continue studying or drop out and apply for a new course at a later date.

If I drop out of university, would I have to repay the loans immediately that I used in the two years I studied, if so what would I have to repay and how long will I have to repay it? Also, if I drop out and then apply for university later on, for example, 2-3 years down the line would I be entitled to another student loan or would I be considered a mature student and thus have to support myself financially (I am 22 right now)? If I am entitled to another student loan, would it be for the entire time I am at university or would it be a reduced amount because I already studied 2 years? If I decide to continue my course, graduate but then apply for a new course, would I be entitled to another student loan?
Reply 1
You will repay what you've already had on the original terms - 9% of whatever you earn over 15k a year. You will have to repay it for as long as it takes, as you always will have done - dropping out makes no difference to that.

Being classed as a mature student doesn't change your finance entitlement.

Previous study will affect your finance entitlement. If you choose to go back (and if a uni would let you) and just study years 2 and/or 3 you would get full funding (but would be on the new fees of 9k, bear that in mind).

However, if you chose to study a completely new course from the beginning you would get a maintenance loan only for the first year and full funding for the remainder of the course. (having to finance 9k fees completely yourself the first year).