The Student Room Group

Scottish Uni Fees

To put it bluntly I'm confused. I'm looking at Uni's in Scotland and was wondering what exactly I'd have to pay? I live in England but have a dual citizenship, my dad is from Holland. So was wondering what exactly it would cost. Probably a bit of a stupid question.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
NI students regardless of nationality currently pay RUK fees in scotland but this has changed now.

What about that are already there do they still have to pay for the rest of their years?
(edited 11 years ago)
Original post by tehmonkey
To put it bluntly I'm confused. I'm looking at Uni's in Scotland and was wondering what exactly I'd have to pay? I live in England but have a dual citizenship, my dad is from Holland. So was wondering what exactly it would cost. Probably a bit of a stupid question.

Phone up and ask x
Reply 4
I'm a Northern Irish student with an Irish passport, and I'll be applying for two Scottish Unis in September. We've known about this loophole for a few months, but I just saw the news report and apparently we get free fees as EU nationals and student loan as UK residents.

Personally, although I think it's awesome, it's probably not fair at all. I mean yes, a lot of people here identify as Irish and have Irish passports and you can't tell them otherwise just because they're applying to university, but honestly if you live in Belfast you're a UK resident. That's not Ireland.

Pretty sure everyone already there applied as a UK student and therefore pay their fees. It's only if you apply as an EU national that you get into the loophole.
Reply 5
Who would I need to phone up, I'm guessing UCAS?
Reply 6