The Student Room Group

What happens if you miss the student finance application deadline?

I am an A2 student hoping to go to uni this september. I know the deadline for applying to student finance this year is 31st may. that's the end of this month. But what happens if you miss the dead line. someone i know said that if you miss the dead line and applied, you would still get the money, but it might be a few weeks or months late. eg- if i apply in july, i might be getting the money on january or february!!!!. wheras if i apply before the deadline (31st May, i will get the money on the start of the course.

is this true? if not, please correct me.:smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Yep this is true. I have applied late before and I actually got the money on time! But yeah if you apply late they might pay it to you late, but you will still get it.
Reply 2
You only have to apply before the end of the academic year to get a loan for that particular academic year.

The deadline is simply to ensure you have funds in place for your course start date.
You will get it late.

Why delay? Apply now. If you're worried about you might change course/uni you can change your application.
Original post by lazy smurf
You will get it late.

Why delay? Apply now. If you're worried about you might change course/uni you can change your application.

It's not actually as simple as that. I'm having problems with my parents income because my dad is self employed so it's all well and good saying you can change your application, but if you can't complete it properly in the first place it's going to be difficult to do.
Reply 5
Original post by nikkiliannaa
It's not actually as simple as that. I'm having problems with my parents income because my dad is self employed so it's all well and good saying you can change your application, but if you can't complete it properly in the first place it's going to be difficult to do.