The Student Room Group

Clinical exams work

Does being paid to take part in clinical exams count as work experience? You get paid £40 to be tested on so I was wondering if it was worth it?
Can't hurt, and you might get the chance to talk to medical students after they do their exam (not before!).
Reply 2
Original post by Hippokrates
Does being paid to take part in clinical exams count as work experience? You get paid £40 to be tested on so I was wondering if it was worth it?

If you want £40, then yes. I don't see how it would count as work experience though.
Reply 3
Wouldn't really call it work experience, but its £40, and will give you an idea about what kind of exams you will have to do in the future, so no harm in it.
Unless you're part of the team conducting the clinical research you cannot claim it is work experience...
Just because I can drive a working car doesn't mean I'm a mechanic
Original post by Polymorphing
Unless you're part of the team conducting the clinical research you cannot claim it is work experience...

I think you might be misinterpreting their idea of 'work experience'. Work experience to me would include shadowing a doctor or medical student, because it is getting experience of the working world. Yes, you wouldn't be a medic, but it doesn't mean you can't learn things from the experience.

Go for it.
Reply 6

It's got nothing to do with research. It's just sitting there and letting students carry out clinical skills on you.
Reply 7
Original post by Hippokrates
It's got nothing to do with research. It's just sitting there and letting students carry out clinical skills on you.

Suppose you could observe how they act and behave with you: the patient, and think about what they did well and how it made you feel.